top of page

Finding and Attracting New Clients


Starting up a business is a scary process and there's nothing more nerve-wracking than looking through your diary and seeing page after page of empty spaces. This is a situation all self-employed people will have been in at some point, but the good news is that you can turn it around.

I am often asked how I built up my business's customer base, and while there is no set process that will guarantee a busy diary these are the steps I took to get the phone ringing.

Ask Friends and Family

Tell everyone you know about your business and ask them to tell their friends and family too! My first few customers were friends who offered to let me groom their dogs so I could get my foot in the door. I used the photographs I took during these appointments to build my website and portfolio, which in turn helped me to attract my first 'real' customers. 

Friends and family will want you to succeed, so ensure you're making the most of this free source of advertising! You might consider offering a discount for those willing to help spread the word for you, but be be cautious of working for free - remember that your skills and services are worth being paid for. You are, after all, a business owner now!

Get Started on Social Networking Websites

In this day and age when so many people have their mobile devices on hand 24/7, having a business profile set up on one of the many social networking websites is must. You can include all the information that your future customers will need - a summary of your business plan, contact details, price lists etc., and as a bonus, membership is completely free!

As your business grows it's important to keep your profile(s) updated with relevant content that your visitors will find interesting. Include photographs, videos and conversation starters to keep your customers engaged. As a reward for their interaction your business profile will reach a greater audience.

It's also worth mentioning that joining relevant local groups on social networking websites* can also provide a way to reach potential customers. Some groups do prohibit the use of advertising though, so make sure you read the rules of the group before joining. 

*I am referring here to Facebook

Hand out Business Cards and Leaflets

In my experience, having an attractive business card/leaflet has been a great way of starting conversation with perspective customers while out and about. I store a number of promotional materials in my car so that when I am travelling I have the resources to advertise my business on the go. 

Not everyone enjoys being stopped by a stranger to talk about a new business they're setting up, so it is important to be considerate and polite. Remember that you're representing your business, so have a good attitude when it comes to possible rejection. Even if someone isn't interested in what you're selling, if you've made a good impression it might encourage them to seek out your services in the future. 

It's possible to make your own business cards and leaflets, but I would recommend using a company that can design and bulk print these for you. It will look more professional, and may even save you money in the long run.

Find and Use Free Online Advertisers

Before starting my business I spent a lot of time online researching websites that would be willing to advertise my business for free. While there are many places to purchase paid advertising online, I chose to forgo these as I couldn't afford the large up-front fees that were required. Paid advertising is also available on most social networking websites, although in my experience this has provided mixed results.

The places I've found the most worthwhile to advertise my business are Google Business, The Good Dog Guide and Yell.com. Although I have to admit that some of these adverts are limited to a few lines only and came with obligatory phone conversations to set up. I would particularly encourage any new business to verify themselves on Google Business, since Google is one of the most used search engines in the world. Plus, it's also free.

Join Forces with Local Businesses

Don't be afraid to network. Seek out local businesses in your target area that offer complimentary (but not competing) services and offer to do a leaflet swap, or advertise on each other's social networking profiles. By joining forces to help each other you'll gain potential customers from your target audience and spread word of your business too. For my business I sought out veterinary practices, canine behavioural and agility classes, pet shops, pet sitters and pet boarding facilities as these services compliment my pet grooming business without directly competing with me. I avoided places that had their own grooming facilities or directly competed with my own services.

Word of Mouth

Customers, if happy, will do a lot of positive advertising for you. I always give my customers a few business cards in case they know/or meet someone who may be looking for a pet groomer. There's nothing wrong with asking customers to write a review of their experiences either, and these I share on my business website and social networking accounts. Thanks to both of these things I am fortunate that most of my new business now comes to me through word of mouth.

There's no need to be shy or pushy when it comes to asking your customers to help you - chances are if they're happy with your services they'll be more than willing to spread the word! My main advice, as always, is to remain polite, friendly and professional, and to focus on giving good customer service as these are the things that really matter to customers. 

I hope you've found this article helpful and encouraging. Please remember that there are many ways to build a customer base, and not all of these suggestions will work for every business or business owner. With time and hard work your business will grow and you'll be the one being asked for advice.

Good luck!

bottom of page